Who we are

ALMA-UK brings together leaders and senior staff from its member organisations to engage in regular roundtable discussion, both in person and remotely.

Member bodies are responsible for nominating their own representatives, who comprise a mix of the organisations’ Chief Executives, Directors and heads of service or function.

Meetings of ALMA-UK are facilitated by a standing Chair, who is elected from this pool of representatives by majority vote. The Chair’s term of office is for two years, with the option of serving two consecutive years, if re-elected.

Through its project work and wider collaborative initiatives, the Alliance involves many other staff from within its own organisational circles, together with external stakeholders.

ALMA-UK’s work is supported by a part-time Co-ordinator. This post is jointly funded by the member organisations in England, Scotland and Wales, and by the Department for Culture Arts and Leisure in the Northern Ireland Executive.

Please contact the Co-ordinator for general enquiries about the work of ALMA-UK.

ALMA-UK Representatives:

ENGLAND

Scott Furlong
Director, Acquisitions, Exports, Loans and Collections, Arts Council England
E: scott.furlong@artscouncil.org.uk

Brian Ashley
Director, Libraries, Arts Council England
E: brian.ashley@artscouncil.org.uk

Nick Kingsley
Head of Archives Sector Development, The National Archives
E: nick.kingsley@nationalarchives.gsi.gov.uk

NORTHERN IRELAND

Helen Osborn
Director of Service Delivery, Libraries NI
E: helen.osborn@librariesni.org.uk

Chris Bailey
Director, Northern Ireland Museums Council
E: chris.bailey@nimc.co.uk

Stephen Scarth
Head of Public Services, Public Record Office of Northern Ireland
E: stephen.scarth@dcalni.gov.uk

SCOTLAND

Joanne Orr
Chief Executive, Museums Galleries Scotland
E: joanneo@museumsgalleriesscotland.org.uk

Alison Turnbull (on maternity leave)
Head of Research and Development, Museums Galleries Scotland
E: alisont@museumsgalleriesscotland.org.uk

Morag Macpherson
Head of Research and Development, Museums Galleries Scotland
E: moragm@museumsgalleriesscotland.org.uk

Amina Shah
CEO, Scottish Library and Information Council
E: a.shah@scottishlibraries.org

Gillian Daly
Policy & Projects Officer, Scottish Library and Information Council
E: g.daly@scottishlibraries.org

Dr Irene O’Brien
Chair, Scottish Council on Archives
E: I.OBrien@scottisharchives.org.uk

WALES

Linda Tomos (Chair of ALMA-UK)
Director, CyMAL: Museums Archives and Libraries Wales, a division of the Welsh Government
E: linda.tomos@wales.gsi.gov.uk

Lesley-Anne Kerr
Head of Access, Learning and ICT, CyMAL
E: lesley-anne.kerr@wales.gsi.gov.uk

IRELAND

Annette Kelly
Head of Libraries Development, LGMA (Ireland)
E: akelly@lgma.ie